Current members

Dr. Jean Charles Ribierre

Jean Charles has been appointed as a reader at the School of Physics and Astronomy of the University of St Andrews in January 2023. He obtained his Ph.D. in 2002 from the University of Strasbourg in France, conducting research on the physics of photorefractive polymers under the supervision of Dr Alain Fort. After postdoctoral research experiences in organic optoelectronics at RIKEN in Japan and at the University of St Andrews, he joined as an assistant professor at the Department of Physics of Ewha Womans University in South Korea between 2010 and 2013. He was then appointed as an associate professor in the Center for Organic Photonics and Electronics Research (OPERA) of Prof Chihaya Adachi at Kyushu University, focusing his research activities on the development of high-efficiency near-infrared TADF OLEDs and the realization of current injection organic laser diodes. He also has strong experience in the translation of new technology with the creation of a startup company in Japan, KOALA Tech, of which he was the CEO between 2019 and 2022. His main research interests focus on the development and the physics of organic electronic materials and devices.

Email: jr43(at)

Office #: 205

Phone: +44 (0) 1334 463184

Saban Tosun

BScHacettepe University

MScUniversity of Bordeaux / MEngTechnical University of Darmstadt

Saban is from Türkiye and joined our group in October 2023 with a keen interest in chemistry and technology. Specializing in the future of OLED devices, his Ph.D. research focuses on the photophysics of TADF OLED materials and investigates how plasmonic nanostructures influence their light-emitting properties.

Email: st293(at)